the legislature, known as the house of assembly, which has 52 members. The Honourable Alan R. Abraham, C.D., was lieutenant-governor as of January 31, 1984. A general election took place on October 6, 1981, when 37 Progressive Conservatives, 13 Liberals, one New Democrat and one Independent were elected.

New Brunswick. The government of New Brunswick has a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. The Honourable George F.G. Stanley was sworn in January 27, 1982, as lieutenant-governor. The legislature elected October 12, 1982, the 50th in New Brunswick's history and 29th since Confederation, had 58 members, including 39 Progressive Conservatives, 18 Liberals and one New Democrat.

Quebec. In Quebec, legislative and executive powers are vested in the National Assembly and an executive council. As the representative of the Crown, the lieutenant-governor plays a role in the functioning of both branches. The Honourable Gilles Lamontagne assumed that office on March 28, 1984. The election for the 32nd legislature was held April 13, 1981. Party standings were: 71 Parti Québécois, 46 Liberals, two Independents and three vacancies.

Ontario. The government of Ontario consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. The Honourable John Black Aird took office as lieutenant-governor in September 1980. A legislative assembly composed of 125 members was elected March 19, 1981. As of January 1, 1984 there were 70 Progressive Conservatives, 33 Liberals and 22 New Democrats.

In addition to the regular ministries are the following provincial agencies: the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, Ontario Hydro, the St. Lawrence Development Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board and the Liquor Licence Board.

Manitoba. In addition to a lieutenant-governor, Manitoba has an executive council composed of 20 members and a legislative assembly of 57 members. The Honourable Pearl McGonigal became lieutenant-governor on October 23, 1981. In the general election of November 17, 1981, 34 New Democrats and 23 Progressive Conservatives were elected to the 32nd legislature. The standing in 1984 of the legislature: 32 New Democrats, 23 Progressive Conservatives and two Independents.

Saskatchewan. The government of Saskatchewan consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. The Honourable Frederick W. Johnson, Q.C., is the lieutenant-governor. The statutory number of members of the legislative assembly is 61. In 1984 Saskatchewan had 44 New Democrats, 15 Progressive Conservatives and two Unionists in the legislative assembly.

Alberta. In addition to the lieutenant-governor (since October 1979 the Honourable Frank Lynch-Staunton) the government of Alberta is composed of an executive council and a legislative assembly of 79 members. On November 2, 1982, 75 Progressive Conservatives, two members of the New Democratic Party and two Independents were elected to form the 20th legislature.

British Columbia. The government of British Columbia consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly of 57 members. On July 13, 1983 the Honourable Robert Gordon Rogers took office as lieutenant-governor. As at May 1983 the assembly consisted of 35 Social Credit members and 22 New Democrats.

## 19.6.2 Territorial governments

Yukon. The constitution for the government of Yukon is based on two federal statutes: the Yukon Act (RSC 1970, c.Y-2) and the Government Organization Act (SC 1966, c.25). The Yukon Act provides for a commissioner as head of government and for a legislative body called the Yukon legislative assembly. Under the Government Organization Act, the minister of Indian affairs and northern development is responsible (with the Governor-in-Council) for directing the commissioner in the administration of Yukon.

In 1979 the minister of Indian affairs and northern development brought in changes which altered the executive level of the Yukon government. It now consists of five elected members of the Yukon legislative assembly who are appointed to an executive council or cabinet by the commissioner, upon the recommendation of the government leader. The commissioner is still the senior representative of the Indian affairs and northern development department in Yukon and performs duties similar to those of a lieutenant-governor in relation to the legislature. The executive council members are assigned portfolio responsibilities by the government leader.

The Yukon Act delineates the jurisdiction of the legislative assembly. It is like those of the provincial assemblies and has jurisdictional control of all matters of a local nature except that the federal government, through the Indian affairs and northern development department, retains control of Yukon's renewable and non-renewable natural resources. Jurisdiction for the territory's wildlife rests with the Yukon government. The legislature is called into session by the commissioner on the advice of the majority party leader.

Legislative authority for Yukon is vested in the Commissioner-in-Council. All bills must be approved by council and assented to by the commissioner before becoming law. As in other jurisdictions, the Governor-in-Council may disallow any ordinance within one year. Ordinances are printed on a sessional basis and consolidated annually.